What Are The New Drone Classes?

As part of the new regulations, a new class system for drones has been introduced. Each make of drone will have its own class rating – from C0 to C4 – which will be based on certain criteria, such as weight, maximum speed and other features based around safety and geo-awareness.

Specific classes of drone can be flown in specific subcategories of the Open Category.

Non-class-marked drones can be flown based on Transitional provisions, which have been extended to January 1, 2026.

In November 2022, the CAA said that the DfT will be changing UK regulations so that European Union (EU) class marks on drones will not be recognised in the UK after 1 January 2023. Drones with EU class marks will still be able to be flown in the UK after that date in the Open and Specific categories but may not make use of the class mark provisions in the A1, A2 and A3 subcategory.

Read more about the drone class system and UK drone laws.


This answer was generated from information sourced from the following pages:

What Are The New Drone Classes?

heliguy™ Knowledge Base

Learn everything from basic drone terminology to advanced UAS concepts and best practices.

Ask a Question